Louise's Feminist Musings

Notes on feminist news & issues

Instagram Censored My Body

Interesting article by Petra Collins.

“I’m used to being told by society that I must regulate my body to fit the norm. I’m used to the fact that images of unaltered women are seen as unacceptable. I’ve taught myself to ignore it (as much as I can) and…”

“What I did have was an image of MY body that didn’t meet society’s standard of “femininity.” The image I posted was from the waist down wearing a bathing suit bottom in front of a sparkly backdrop. Unlike the 5,883,628 (this is how many images are tagged #bikini) bathing suit images on Instagram (see here and here) mine depicted my own unaltered state — an unshaven bikini line. Up until this moment, I had obviously seen and felt the pressure to regulate my body, but never thought I would literally experience it…….”

Read more here on Huffington Post

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2013 by in English items, Representation of Women in Media (all sorts of) and tagged .
