Louise's Feminist Musings

Notes on feminist news & issues

Great Bystander Intervention Story!

About a man helping a woman out when creep approaches her and won’t go away. Here’s part of his story:
It was painful to watch.  She clearly wanted nothing to do with him, and he clearly wasn’t going to take the hint.  Her rebukes got firmer.  “I’d like to read my book.”  And he pulled out the social pressure.  “Hey, I’m just asking you a question.  You don’t have to be so rude.”  She started to look around for outs.  Her head swiveled from one exit to another.[…]

So I moved seats until I was sitting behind him.  I leaned forward with my head on the back of his seat.

“Hi,” I said with a little smile.

He looked at me like I was a little crazy–which isn’t exactly untrue–and turned back to her.

“How are you doing?”  I asked.

“I’m fine,” he said flatly without ever looking back.

“I really like your hair,” I said.  “It looks soft.”

That’s about when it got…..weird.

He sort of half turned and glared back me, and I could tell I was pissing him off.  His eyes told me to back the hell away, and his lips were pressed together tightly enough to drain the color from them completely.

Read more behind the link:

http://www.readability.com/read?url=http%3A%2F%2Fchrisbrecheen.blogspot.com.au%2F2013%2F07%2Fchanging-creepy-guy-narrative.html%3Fm%3D1

Don’t forget to read the comments. The comments are filled with interesting discussion and stories from women describing difficult situations they themselves were in involving men who wouldn’t take a hint. (For all you men out there: all women have been in these situations several times.)

Leave a Reply

